Before departure it is important to check both the identity and health documents that are required for your country of destination otherwise you may be prohibited from entering.
Please note that some countries do not accept paper identity cards renewed with a stamp. Included among these are: Croatia, Egypt, Greece, Morocco, Slovenia, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey.
For further details please consult the information sheet of the country in question on Travelling Safelyand the website of Customs.

As a result of the Schengen Convention which came into force in 1995 internal checks between member States have been abolished. The agreement enabled the standardisation of security procedures along borders and resulted in the adoption of common rules on visas and rights of asylum in order to allow for the free movement of people within member States.
Passengers whose destination is a country of the Schengen area must show an up-to-date identity document which is valid for travel abroad. The countries which fully apply the Schengen Agreement are: Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Hungary, then Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Croatia and Switzerland (which are still not full members of the EU).
Sweden, the last country to have acceded to the Schengen Agreement opened its land borders in 2008 and its air borders at the end of March 2009. Ireland and the United Kingdom have not yet signed the Agreement.
Cyprus which joined the EU in 2004 as well as Bulgaria and Romania which joined in 2007 do not yet fully participate in the Schengen Agreement.
You therefore need to show a passport or a valid identity card to enter into these countries. A driving licence is not valid for travel abroad. For further information visit the site of Ministry of Foreign Affairs.